CHETAN BHAGAT: revolution 2020


Revolution2020

CHETAN BHAGAT @)@)

When I searched for the meaning of the word PLAGIARISM, THIS IS WHAT I GOT:-

The unauthorized use or close imitation of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one’s own original work, as by not crediting the author:

What made me to look for the exact meaning of this word is: I just finished reading the latest novel by CHETAN BHAGAT, REVOLUTION 2020.

He would have acknowledged at least 100s of Bollywood’s scriptwriters for dishing out this book. So many plots directly from the movies we have seen and grown. Remember, Muqadar ka sikander and lots and lots of other.

Why I am suggesting such a meaningless insignificant thing (we are a nation thriving on pirated software). The only reason being; Chetan made a lot of hue and cry about 3 idiots, the movie. And my first reaction after watching the movie was; a better movie than the novel after a long long time. And PLAGIARISM or a remix is my first reaction after reading REVOLUTION @)@). I have not changed the name of the book, just pressed the shift key while typing 2020!!!! I think you got it.

I may be totally wrong too, because a REMIX is not considered a copied product. And at best this book can be called a remix. The word original cannot go with it, which I am sure. The use of any other word completely depends on the reader.

Recently, Chetan had some very hard feelings against Infosys man Narayanmurthy too. The debate was on “standards”. Bhagatji, 2020 does not reflect standard at all. The standard of a TEST match or even a 50 50 one day match is not expected in 20 20 but the cricket remains cricket in 20 20. You cannot play football in a cricket match. In the name of changing the format, you cannot replace the game. An original novel is a novel and it should not be a remix script for a forthcoming Hindi movie. Decide before you pen down, are you going to write a novel or a narration for a Hindi movie. Revolution is a big word, and 2020 can entertain not bring in revolution.

About Piyush Mishra

A Black swan fooled by Randomness.
This entry was posted in Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to CHETAN BHAGAT: revolution 2020

  1. Pingback: Semester Evaluation « Black Rose

  2. mikerana says:

    The trouble with new authors is that they commercialize and productionize their works. The original ideas must remain the core of one’s books or articles. I try to provide the original quotes when I need to take support for an idea.

  3. Great concept. I try to not commercialize or productionize my books, which is why instead of getting an agent, I self-published. Please read one of my novels and see if you agree:

    http://www.amazon.com/Eddie-Edwards/e/B0034OKI42/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1360135502&sr=1-2-ent

  4. Saunved says:

    I completely agree with you about this. Authors should not dish out remixes and the book, in no way symbolized “Revolution 2020″. By which, I mean to say that the message of the book was never clear. Great piece by you!

    By the way, I have an author friend, “Charles Yallowitz”, (you might know him). He has written a wonderful book, which you can find here: http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-Hero-Legends-Windemere-ebook/dp/B00BL9GBU2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369508655&sr=8-1&keywords=legends+of+windemere

  5. jjspina says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Best wishes with yours.

  6. vandysnape says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. The book was rubbish ! I threw the book halfway through reading and sometimes still wonder how i managed to get through even half of the novel. Great post :)

  7. Simi K. Rao says:

    Hi Piyush! Thanks for visiting my blog and liking the post on my book. I hope that you’ll read and review it. After reading what you’ve written here, I truely look forward to what you’ve to say about my work. :)

  8. homeflair says:

    So well written!

  9. Ms. Vee says:

    Hello Piyush, this is a good read. Thank you for visiting, and the like on my post.

  10. Dr.Swetha RM says:

    Chetan bhagat is vastly overrated .This book therefore did not disappoint me. My message to the author who could pen something like three mistakes- never write until you have something genuine to write . If the mind is closed there is no point in uncapping your pen .

Leave a Reply

